Wendy’s Yoga Cake

This cake was for Jack’s mum Wendy who turned 60, she loves yoga so I had to try to think of ways to symbolise this without it looking naff. The lotus flowers were a strong image for me and also the ‘tree pose’, this allowed for leaves and a floral element which made me feel a lot more comfortable in the design.

I used two different brushes to paint this cake, one very wide for the broad strokes and landscape background – just like I would use on a watercolour painting. I really like the effect this gives and I will definitely use this again on future cakes. I like the layering of the background, to give the mountains better depth. I was watching Karate Kid whilst finishing this cake off! can you tell?

 

“Cake went down a treat on Saturday. Cheers!” –  Jack

Leave a Reply

