The hot air balloon party cake

This was a very brandy-seeped fruit cake for Louise Shepherd, it was a gift for her mum’s 60th birthday and was accompanied by tickets for a hot air balloon ride. How lovely! I wanted to do a very illustrative cake and tried to use lots of the skills I have learnt from previous cakes – like the paint washes to build up the layers which I think gives a vintage/ worn look, especially with the gold drawings.

I added some sugar paste roses to the top of the cake as I didn’t want to do more drawings and thought it needed a bit of order and structure, which I think worked well. I am happy that after this muted coloured cake I have an order for a cake this week which I will go rainbow crazy with! keep in touch to see how that one turns out!

Leave a Reply

