Mini couture cakes

For my best friends birthday I made her 3 miniature cakes, two chocolate and one lemon. Each cake had at least 3 layers of sponge. There was a bit of a leaning tower possibility throughout construction, but this was fun to play around with!

This ‘gift set’ allowed me a chance to play with all my sugarpaste bits and pieces that I have been collecting, instead of doing a handpainted design like normal. After doing these I really want to work on my piping and also try out royal icing on my next ‘freestyle’ cake – ie. one that is for the family and not a ‘external client’. (ha!)

I was really happy with my new white sugarpaste as it was flexible enough to let me use my gerbera cutter which previously was too delicate and kept snapping my pastes. I look forward to using the pastes in more designs soon!

 

Leave a Reply

