First ‘piped’ Sunflower Lemon Cake

This cake was for my work’s afternoon tea. It is a lemon drizzle sponge with lemon curd buttercream. It’s a trusty favourite of mine and was requested by Beck’s who had it as her top-tier wedding cake earlier this summer. It was lovely getting a request!

I found a great video online of how to pipe a sunflower and this was my first attempt at recreating it, I loved every moment! I will be putting more flowers on my designs and adding these to my handpainted cakes for extra height and WOW factor. Kate’s cupcake wedding next year will also feature these, obviously colour coded with her theme of Red, Ivory and Grey, lovely!

The video of how to do the flower is here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mUzrhfc8X2U&feature=related

2 thoughts on “First ‘piped’ Sunflower Lemon Cake

Leave a Reply

