A white loaf, finally!

DSC_0204

I know this isn’t a cake but I needed to blog about this episode in my baking life. Lately I have been very bothered by my inability to make bread. EVERY attempt I have made has been a dense inedible disappointment. However, it pains me to say that the trusty Delia Smith saved me. It just seems such a cliche that the queen of the kitchen does know really best. It took ages to rise but was cheap to make and absolutely delicious!!!

Try it at home for yourself, you will be so proud when you slice it. I really hope bread making is back on the agenda for young bakers. No machines necessary, just a bit if patience.

Click here for the recipe.

The only amend I had to this recipe (I am unable to fully follow ANY recipe!) is to use brown sugar and to let it rise for the 2nd time for 1 1/2 (Delia says just 1 hr but I wanted to make sure it had doubled and left it by a warm oven)
Let me know how you get on, and remember, if it fails, like me, try try again.

2 thoughts on “A white loaf, finally!

    • Yes, you must Heather! its great, just be patient, and make sure the water is ‘hand hot’ – i think warming the flour beforehand in the oven also helps the rise. Delia knows best! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

