Almond & Poppy Seed Muffins

image

I love poppy seed! Unfortunately, my husband does not like their bestfriend, the lemon! Terrible. But I was determind to bake with poppy seeds in a sponge.

image

I found this Betty Crocker recipe and it intrigued me as it uses sour cream in the batter, a very american ‘thing’.

image

Milk, sour cream and an egg creates an incredibly light, fluffy sponge and the poppy seeds only added to this light texture, you must try them!

image

I didn’t have any almond essence so I just added a tablespoon of ground almonds instead. The muffins were not too almondy in taste as a result. Maybe next time I will add more…

image

After you spoon the batter into your cases you spinkle sugar on top and some sliced almonds. I loved this part as you get a real earthy & organic look to the cooked muffin and a great mix of textures. I want to play with more ‘pre-oven sprinkles’ on my sponges, well, ones which are not already destined to be iced and painted!

image

Link to Recipe

Leave a Reply

