The Budgie Cake

“Well, she’s had budgies since she was little, so that would be nice?” – that was my brief for this cake. Awesome.

Immediately, knew I wanted to go for a soft looking cake, vintage, but with a twist of modern ideas – like the marbling of the icing before I painted onto it. Also, I didn’t want to go sickly sweet with the bird theme, as there is lots of bird-cage cakes out there (which look great, but I wanted to be different).

The cake was a chocolate fudge sponge with chocolate buttercream – a customer favourite. It’s nice to start establishing these things and seeing what people like and re-order. It means I must be doing something right!?

I don’t want to say too much about this particular cake as I think the images say quite a bit already – but I would love to hear your thoughts about it so please do comment below. I posted a few pictures on twitter and got this great comment (made me chuckle after a very late night of cake painting!) “@icemaidencakes @lornas_cakery @cakesbybeth A cake worth ‘tweeting’ about – pun totally intended! Pretty impressive cake too.”

6 thoughts on “The Budgie Cake

  1. Thank you Caroline, Julia and mydearbakes for your comments and ‘likes’! It’s so exciting to be making these cakes and being able to show them to you all on my blog. Each cake is getting more and more stylised – so stay tuned for new designs coming soon x (I just dropped off a wedding cake order so that will be posted in the next day or 2)

  2. Lorna, the cakes just get better and more amazing. Love the budgie and very different. I’m sure your client was delighted.

Leave a Reply

