Field of Blooms Cake

 

This was a funny request for a cake, as it was going to be brought to a wedding and entered in a wedding guest ‘Bake-Off’. So slyly Tom asked me to make his entry and obviously I obliged. The competition is today, so I’m not sure how we did (if we win, I will update this later).

 

 

As usual, I asked for a few things about the couple to start off the inspiration for the design and I was told that when they got engaged it was at a little picnic  – so this led me to this design, a summery field of blooms…

 

Now, as this was a competition, I knew they would cut into the cake to try it – so, I made the victoria sponge inside pink, green and orange for extra ‘pazazz’! The only thing is I’m not sure what that part looks like!

This obsession with surprise centers in cakes and sponges has been with me for a while so it was crazy when the first episode of GBBO was about that too, so fun! Also, I recently came across a great blog which shows you how to hide little images inside a baked cake, go look at Once Upon A Pedestal.

Hmmmm, I hope we win…

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

