My Homemade Gingerbread Hot Chocolate

So after testing out quite a few good recipes for flavoured hot chocolates, (a great task I set myself!) I have whipped up a recipe of my own. Here is how I make gingerbread hot chocolate which is featuring in my hampers this Christmas.

• 3/4 cup packed light brown sugar
• 10 ounces good quality bittersweet chocolate or chocolate chips
• 1 1/4 cups. powdered milk
• 1 cup. powdered sugar
• 1 1/2 cups. cocoa
• 3 tbsp. ground ginger
• 4 tbsp. ground cinnamon
• 1/2 tsp. ground cloves
• 1/2 tsp. ground allspice
• 1/2 tsp. Salt

Blitz together thoroughly in a mixer, leave some larger chocolate chunks as these are nice to melt in your mug of milk later.

556947_503319213041578_843131309_n
Do a quick sample cup and test you like the sweetness/chocolaty-ness.
Not chocolaty enough?
Add: 1/2 cup of cocoa and 1 tbsp of brown sugar. Mix again
Not Gingerbready enough?
Add: 2 heaped tsp ground ginger and mix again.

Store in an airtight container for up to 2 months.

Stir 3 teaspoons into a mug of hot milk and enjoy!
You could also divide up the mix into cellophane gift bags, add some mini marshmallows and tie with ribbon to give away to someone lucky.

430829_503371179703048_999926790_n (1)

6 thoughts on “My Homemade Gingerbread Hot Chocolate

  1. this sounds like a great christmas present!
    am i correct in thinking that ‘powdered sugar’ means icing sugar/confectioner’s sugar and not caster sugar or superfine berry sugar?

    • Hello Ammina! Well, before I bought a set of measuring cups I just used a standard mug that I had at home for American recipes. I adapted my recipe from a selection of USA recipes so thats why this recipe isn’t in metric. Helpful? :S xx

  2. Pingback: My Day Baking Bread in the ‘Blackbird Bread’ Nest! | Lorna's Cakery

Leave a Reply

