And Poof! Choux Puffs!

Mastering Choux Pastry. Well, trying to.
DSC_0372
I’ve made Profiteroles before and it went much better than I had anticipated, but that was over a year ago and today I was baking in Sydney, at my friend’s house. I don’t know about you, but being in someone else’s kitchen throws me, every time! I’m not sure what it is, hopefully I’m not the only one? Anyway, I was convinced these weren’t going to work. I think as I have been travelling my baking confidence has wobbled a bit, probably because I have only had the chance to bake a couple of times in the four months we have been away *sigh!*
DSC_0370
BUT I am not complaining, this travelling lark was the best decision me and Mr Cakery have ever had, and we have until October to make the most of it before reality strikes and we are home. When I am home I plan to make lots of choux pastry, for a possible Lorna’s Cakery market stall venture, or should I say adventure! We will see, lots of planning to do yet. So, today I practiced making some choux puffs, bigger than profiteroles but smaller than a cupcake. Anyway, I used this recipe and it was simple and easy to work with, you just need to really beat the mixture after you added the egg to making it glossy and smooth. try it, choux is really fun.
In true Aussie fashion, tonight we are enjoying these little guys after a Friday Night BBQ!
DSC_0369

Leave a Reply

