Cinnamon Apple Crumble Cake at the Farm

20130724-153218.jpg
This week I am volunteering at a family farm near Melbourne, at a small place called Bairnsdale. Me and Mr Cakery are helping out with the 6 horses, 3 dogs and a young, very energetic 3-year-old boy. Needless to say it’s been a lovely place to spend a few days and as the couple are sailors, we might even get out on the lakes soon on their boat. Fingers crossed for some sunny weather (it’s winter here and the wind can be pretty chilly!)

The cake I’m discussing today is the one on the right, the Sultana Tea Cake on the left was baked by Mr Cakery this morning. You can get the recipe here!

image

Anyway, the family don’t like to eat too much wheat flour and try to steer clear of cane sugar, opting to use honey and spelt in their baking. With this in mind, I gave this new recipe a go, it’s from the Waitrose website but I have copied it here for your ease of reading.

However, I have noted my changes to the recipe as I found it too sweet, buttery (didn’t know it was possible, but yes too much butter in this case!) and also, as I was using spelt flour, I should have used more than what it states here, I’m not sure if that is because generally the quantity is much too low or because spelt flour acts a little differently. It’s probably a bit of both.

One more thing, as I was using someone else’s kitchen, annoyingly I couldn’t find the scales (they were out so I couldn’t ask) so I had to convert the recipe to cups from grams… Which yes, with this all in mind, could have led me to not being completely satisfied with the recipe, but I stand by my annotations. Aspects of the cake are fantastic, the crumble throughout the sponge is great, really something special. I think there’s plenty of room to add this to other cakes that you like to bake, I really recommend you give it a go.

Cinnamon Crumble Apple Cake
(The Waitrose description, it’s pretty accurate!)
You will want to make this cake again and again. The crumble topping sinks through the buttery cake as it cooks to give a ripple of sweet cinnamon among the slices of apple. Serve it warm as a dessert with ice cream or lightly whipped cream, or cold for tea.

Preparation time: 25 minutes
Cooking time: 50 minutes to 55 minutes
Total time: 1 hour 15 minutes to 1 hour 20 minutes
Makes: 12 slices

Ingredients
3 small eating apples (I would opt for Gala)
2 tsp ground cinnamon
250g caster sugar (175g of light brown sugar)
250g pack Lurpak Butter Slightly Salted (I think 150 – 175g)
250g self-raising flour (300g especially if you are using spelt flour)
4 medium eggs
(I’d also add a big squeeze of lemon juice)

Method
Preheat the oven to 180°C, gas mark 4. Grease and line the base of a 23cm round, deep cake tin. Peel, core and thinly slice the apples, toss in 1 tsp of the cinnamon and set aside. To make the crumble topping, measure 50g (40g, I made too much and didn’t use it all) each of the caster sugar, butter and flour into a bowl. Add the remaining cinnamon and rub everything together with your fingertips until it forms a rough crumble. Set aside.

Put the remaining sugar and the eggs in a large bowl and use an electric whisk to mix together. Whisk for about 10 minutes until the mixture is pale and thick, and leaves a trail on the surface when the whisk blades are lifted.

Melt the remaining butter in a pan, cool slightly, then drizzle into the whisked mixture, folding it in carefully to preserve as much air as possible. Sieve the flour over the top and fold in. (Add the lemon juice now and fold in gently). Turn the mixture into the cake tin and scatter the apple slices evenly over the top. Sprinkle the crumble over and bake for 50-55 minutes, until the cake is firm to the touch and golden brown. Allow to cool for 10 minutes in the tin. Serve warm with Clotted Cream Ice Cream, or leave to cool.

In my opinion, I would serve it with a huge spoon of creme fraiche! Amazing.

Leave a Reply

