Romeo and Juliet Wedding Cake, Painted Red Roses

Red and Yellow Rose wedding cake
I’m not sure why this cake reminds me of Shakespeare’s balcony scene, maybe you can shed some like on that? The lovely couple were friends of ours so it was an extra special order, which included a triple layer lemon drizzle top tier, with extra zest! I was actually in shock as all of the cake was eaten… within half an hour! I think it’s the lemon curd buttercream that gets people coming back for seconds.
Red Wedding Flower Topper Brides Chinese dress material - inspiration for the design
So this design was inspired by Ruth’s wedding dress material – and also the fact that the venue (London’s UCL) was covered in huge bouquets of yellow tulips. I wanted a creeping rose effect but with a 3D element – not just painted, odd for me I know! In the past couple of months I have really enjoyed playing around with making sugar paste flowers and want them to feature more on my cakes in the future. Currently, I am on a bit of a giant poppy binge but for Ruth and Matt’s wedding it was all about the rose style blossoms from her dress. I use Pinterest to seek out mini tutorials and also you-tube, check it out – for the poppies I’m not even using a petal cutter, thrifty!
cutting the cake
It was a beautiful sunny Saturday in March – full of smiles, love and lemon cake! Congratulations Matt and Ruth!

Me and Mr Cakery enjoying some wedding bubbles!

Me and Mr Cakery enjoying some wedding bubbles!

2 thoughts on “Romeo and Juliet Wedding Cake, Painted Red Roses

Leave a Reply

